As predicted, I couldn’t wait to get to Toronto to get started. So, due to my love for all things gastronomical, I have decided to document some of my cooking and baking triumphs. This first one was particularly delicious. After seeing it all over Pinterest for the past year, I finally took a stab at cauliflower crust pizza. My friend Tia is gluten-free, so I figured she would make a perfect cooking (and eating) buddy.

For the crust, we modified a recipe we found on Lauren Conrad’s website (originally from Eat. Drink. Smile.) based on the ingredients we had:

2-3 large cauliflower heads

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

1 beaten egg

1 tsp dried oregano

1 tsp minced garlic

To “rice” the cauliflower you can either break it up into florets and put it in a food processor, or grate it with a cheese grater, which is what we did. You are then supposed to cook the cauliflower in the microwave for 8 minutes (we had a bad experience the first time we tried, so I suggest tossing it in between to make sure the part at the bottom doesn’t burn). Once cooked, take 1 cup’s worth and mix it together with the other ingredients in a large bowl. Spray nonstick cooking spray on a pan and pat the “dough” into a circle until it is just under 1/4 inch thick, then bake for 15 minutes at 450ΒΊ.

At this point, you can add whatever ingredients you want. Tia and I spread both pesto and tomato sauce on the crust, and then covered it in mozzarella. We LOVE cheese, so we also added crumbled goat cheese, as well as arugula and prosciutto – my all-time favourite pizza toppings.

Finally, put your pizza under the broiler just until the cheese melts. VoilΓ !

image

I might need to work on my food-tography presentation, but either way, ‘twas truly delicious. I highly recommend.

Stay hungry!

Caj

