For my friend Tory’s birthday this past weekend, I decided to satisfy my baking urges by making carrot cupcakes. We both love carrot cake (who doesn’t?), so why not make it in a cute little bite-size form?

I used this recipe from Ina Garten, minus the raisins. Maybe I baked them for too long without realizing, but to be honest, they were more of a muffin than a cupcake – kinda crispy on the outside, and I prefer cake to be more…moist (ugh). But if carrot muffins are what you’re going for, these were really good and would be perf for breakfast (I would know)!

image

Because I was pressed for time, I used store-bought cream cheese icing, but in the future I’ll definitely stick to making my own – homemade always tastes better. I also added mini eggs (and Disney princess candles) because, well, duh.

image

Still getting there on the presentation front.

Stay hungry!

Caj

