Recently, my friend Sarah and I were discussing how underrated the date square is. You sometimes see them in coffee shops, but you never hear people talk about them. I think they’re kind of seen as an old lady treat, but they are DELICIOUS, and I vow to bring them back and make them young, hip, and fresh again. Yeah that’s right. Date squares will be the new trend in desserts just like cupcakes, macarons and donuts before them (okay, probably not).

image

For this recipe I went with my tried-and-true fave: Martha Stewart. I just left out the lemon zest because I’m not really a fan of eating peel.

I used “deglet noor” dates for the date paste, which ended up being a lighter brown than the paste in the traditional date square (though the squares do look very much like Martha’s!).

image

Step 1: mix the crumble and pat 2/3 of it into the bottom and sides of the pan.

image

Step 2: pour the date paste over the bottom layer. Looks SUPER unappetizing here, apologies.

image

Step 3: add remaining crumble on top. I also threw in some chopped walnuts. Note: you should pat it down, not just sprinkle it like I did, otherwise it will go EVERYWHERE when you try to cut/eat it. (This also happens if you’re like me and too impatient to wait for them to cool before you cut them.)

image

I might try a different kind of date next time, but these are great for this time of year because they taste like a mix between a traditional date and a peach when cooked. Yum!

image

Stay hungry!

Caj

