Hi, friends! I’m doing this week’s recipe early this week, because the rest of my week is pretty booked up with family and friends leaving little time for cooking.image

For the Cinco de Mayo potluck yesterday, I decided to make my own guacamole from scratch. I think guac is one of those things you can more or less make however you want, so I didn’t want to follow a recipe – instead I just added stuff as I saw fit in the proportions I thought would taste good. And let me tell you, OH EM GEE, this is a good one.

Here is the (approximate) recipe:

– 2 ripe avocados

– 1 ripe plum tomato, seeded and diced

– 1 cup diced ripe mango

– about 1/8 cup diced red onion

– juice of 1/2 a lime

– chopped cilantro

– chili powder

image

The first thing I did was mash the avocado with a potato masher, which made it really smooth. If you’re like me and like some chunks in there, though, mash it with the back of a spoon instead.

Then just add the rest of the ingredients, mixing with a spoon as you go! The amount of cilantro and chili powder you want to use is up to you, but I was extremely generous with the chili powder, because I wanted to offset the sweetness of the mango and lime with an equal amount of spice.

Deeeeelish!

Stay hungry!

Caj

