This past weekend was a great weekend for me food-wise, especially when it came to tacos. It started off with dinner at Grand Electric on Friday night with my sister (Jaclyn) and her boyfriend (Pat). We had to wait an hour and 45 minutes, but once we got in, the service was fast and the tacos were delicious. I tried the beef cheek, the baja fish and the crispy cauliflower, which was arguably my favourite. I’d go back, but maybe a wee bit earlier.

image

On Saturday, I went with my friends Tory, Isabelle and Sep to the Toronto Underground Market at the Evergreen Brickworks. TUM is a monthly event held at the Brickworks where budding “food entrepreneurs”, breweries, wineries etc. can showcase their products (AKA, food- and drink-sampling heaven). Another bonus: the Brickworks is basically in my backyard – we got there by walking through the ravine.

image

Among the things we sampled:

– Watermelon wheat beer from Amsterdam Brewing Co.

– Tequila from Tequila Tromba, mixed with a steaming citrus concoction (I was obsessed)

– Calamari tacos and mushroom quesadillas from Tacocat:

image

– Pork buns and skewers from Babi & Co. (the buns were deep-fried – NOM)

– Potato-and-cheese and pulled pork pierogi from The Saucy Pierogi:

image

– Fried chicken skewers from Gushi Japanese Street Food

– Mushroom arancini (fried risotto balls) from Thistletown High School Chefs:

image

– Peameal sandwich with quail egg and maple-onion marmalade from Little Tomato Catering (SO GOOD):

image

– Ice-cream sandwiches from Sweet Sammies Ice Cream Sandwich Co. (also SO GOOD – I got roasted banana ice cream sandwiched between two peanut butter chocolate chip cookies and I’m still dreaming about it.)

I think that covers everything we tried, but there was a lot more on top of that including burritos, meatballs, cupcakes, and sweet and savory waffles!

On Sunday, my friends and I decided to have a Mexican potluck in order to celebrate ¡Cinco de Mayo! (I’ll try not to lapse into Español here but I can’t promise anything). I contributed a mango guacamole, Georgina made fish tacos (3rd day in a row for me and not mad about it), and Isabelle brought margaritas. I’d say it was a success:

image

What did you do this weekend? Any over-arching “themes”?

Stay sassy,

Caj

