Though I am almost certainly Type A and love routine, I am no creature of habit. A good day for me is one where I have accomplished something worthwhile or tried something new. This weekend, then, was a really good one.

First off was my hair appointment at Curl Ambassadors on Friday (I went on such a rant about this the first time that I have given it its own post – see below). Then, that night, my brother (Blake) and I attended a “Homemade Pasta 101” class at Culinarium. Culinarium is a store at Mt. Pleasant & Eglinton that sells 100% local and sustainable food products and offers a variety of classes and events. This class was led by experienced pasta maker Angelo Bean, from Italy, now an artisan sausage maker. He was very knowledgeable, helpful and patient, and walked us through the creation of tagliatelle, stracci and gnocchi from scratch and by hand.

image

Blake and I sort of struggled with the gnocchi but had so much fun with the tagliatelle, especially with the “pasta guitar” used to cut it (bottom right in the picture above). Kathleen, the owner of the store, made two delicious sauces with which we later ate our pasta. We took some home, along with some of Angelo’s sausages for our family BBQ the next day.

image

On Saturday morning, I met my friends for brunch at Rose & Sons. I browsed the menu online as I always do before going to a new restaurant, and I have to admit I was a little skeptical. Though I’m adventurous with my food, when I go for brunch I crave a typical brunch – eggs benedict, pancakes, omelettes, EGGS BENEDICT, that kind of thing. As such I went for the 3 eggs with toast, bacon, and schmaltz hash (which I learned later was just fried animal fat – gah). It was good, but the yogurt parfait with strawberry, rhubarb, and peanut-poppy granola—which two of my friends got and I stole several bites of—was GREAT. As was the upside-down cake we all shared. Overall I liked Rose & Sons, but I thought the service left a little something to be desired (am I a certified food critic yet?!). However, the owner DID give Tory a free scone as we were leaving, so bonus points for that.

We spent the rest of the afternoon exploring some lovely spots in Leslieville, including this quirky store:

image

image

and Bobbette & Belle where we shared another piece of scrumptious cake:

image

image

Good hair and delicious food aside, my most exciting new adventure this weekend was running the Sporting Life 10k this morning. The most I ever run during a typical workout is 5k, though I did do 6-8k in the week leading up to the run. Despite an attack of plantar fasciitis (just as unpleasant as it sounds, and even more painful), I met my goal of finishing in under an hour – 53:59, to be exact! Seeing and sprinting toward the finish line was the most exhilarating thing I have done in a VERY long time. It feels amazing.

image

Happy Mother’s Day, everyone!

Stay curious,

Caj

