For this week’s new recipe, I decided to try Stephanie Eddy’s strawberry scones from May 7th’s Globe & Mail. I had wanted to make them for Mother’s Day, but after my 10k we all just wanted to eat so we had challah french toast instead. Mmm. I decided to make the scones later in the week.

image

My mom requested that I leave the basil out of the glaze, and I decided just to forget the glaze altogether. I was a little intimidated by the recipe when I set out because I’d never made scones before, but it ended up being way quicker and easier than I thought. Granted, I actually had a zester and a pastry cutter in my kitchen, so that saved me a lot of time.

The hardest part was folding the dough/patting it into a 1-inch circle, because it was SO sticky and kept sticking to my hands. You definitely need the flour on the counter, and I used a spatula to pat down the dough which I also dipped in flour. The final product was pretty, though! I had high hopes…

image

…And for good reason. After baking for roughly 17 minutes, the scones were a perfect golden brown on the outside, fluffy on the inside and smelled like lemony-buttery goodness. I obviously ate one on the spot and it tasted like something you would buy at Starbucks. SUCCESS!

image

image

Excuse me while I go enjoy another with some tea.

Stay hungry!

Caj

