Before I jet off to BC on Sunday, I thought I would write about the highlights of this past week. On Monday morning, I met my friends Georgina and Fiona at the Rooster Coffee House, a café right across the street from Riverdale Park. Definitely check it out, or at least the website – it’s a beautiful space with great coffee, and in such an unexpected location!

Georgina and I decided to see The Great Gatsby that night, so I spent the rest of the day reading the book. I was a fan of both book and movie, and was impressed with how much Baz Luhrmann was able to stick to the book while still putting his own modern spin on it. Plus, I’ve had a few of the songs from the soundtrack stuck in my head ever since.

Since then, I’ve been reading Amor Towles’ Rules of Civility, which I HIGHLY recommend. It’s told from the perspective of a young woman living in Depression-era New York City, which is impressive given that the author is a man. Even more impressive: this is his first book, but reads like his eighth. There is just something about the way he writes that is so damn captivating I have a hard time putting it down.

image

On Wednesday, I met my friend Celia downtown on a mission to find/eat at a food truck. First, though, we toured St. Lawrence Market, which was great because I honestly don’t remember ever having been there before. Our first stop was Buster’s Sea Cove (which incidentally also has a food truck), where I had my first lobster roll. Needless to say it would not be my last.

image

image

After touring more of the market, we made our way to Corktown where we found the Hogtown Smoke food truck parked at a gas station and got a pulled pork sandwich to share. We would have stayed to explore Corktown if there were anything to explore in Corktown, so instead we made our way to Queen West to do some shopping.

image

image

On Friday night, Isabelle and I satisfied our lobster cravings at Rock Lobster on Ossington. It was SUCH a fun experience and I will definitely be back again soon. To start with, we each had a Caesar, complete with celery and a lobster tail (!):

image

Next, we shared their famous lobster roll – my second in three days, yay! The dill pickle it came with was way too vinegary for me, but the roll and homemade chips were great. Finally, the grand finale: the Crow’s Nest seafood tower, with 6 oysters, 8 shrimp, and 2 snow crab claws. I still can’t even—just wow:

image

(Photo courtesy of Isabelle. Side note: all of this delicious seafood came at a great value, too!)

My week ended off on a great note by going to see a matinée of The Book of Mormon with Isabelle’s family. The humour was definitely boundary-pushing, but I expected that given that it was written by the creators of South Park, and overall it was a really fun show.

Off to an early bed before my 7am flight tomorrow – no May 24 shenanigans for this chick!

Stay sassy,

Caj

