I arrived home yesterday from Vancouver Island, where I spent the past week visiting my boyfriend Kyle who lives in Campbell River on the island’s east coast. I already miss the beautiful scenery and easy lifestyle. Several rivers, lakes, and provincial parks are only a short drive away, and stunning views of mountains and the Pacific are everywhere you look.

image

I tried to give a brief summary of our daily events, but realistically I’m not brief. That just ain’t me. So for your convenience and peace of mind, I have broken this up into two posts. You’re welcome.

When I arrived on Sunday (after 11 hours of traveling!), Kyle took me to the Discovery Pier, where the water is blue as can be and one scoop of ice cream equals at least four…

image

image

…which equals a happy Caj.

After dinner, we went with some of Kyle’s friends to a campsite at Menzies Bay, where we roasted hot dogs and marshmallows for s’mores (our first s’mores of MANY that week. Pro tip: make them under the broiler, open-face, then add the second graham cracker once they’re out of the oven. You won’t regret it). I also shot a gun for the first time, granted it was a BB gun. Same thing, OK?!

image

^ The view from the campsite.

On Monday we went for a hike in Elk Falls Provincial Park. It was a cloudy, misty day, but it ended up being perfect refreshing weather for our hike. When we made it to the falls we played around with Kyle’s camera to try to take some professional-looking shots. Kyle hasn’t posted them yet, so all I have are these less-than-stellar ones from my phone:

image

image

image

^ The mossy birch trees on our hike, or fuzzy trees as I liked to call them. Scientific y’know?

Tuesday was also grey and cloudy, so we had a quieter day and decided to make dinner that night for his parents (fish tacos!). In the meantime, we went to Java Shack, where they literally make THE BEST sandwiches. THE. BEST. Or at least the roast chicken sandwich is the best, because that’s what we had. Roast seasoned chicken + lettuce + tomato + cucumber + red onion+ avocado + maple edam cheese + dijon mustard + horseradish mayo + sourdough or sunflower bread = instant foodgasm. And now you know how to assemble it.

imageYeah duh, I took a picture of a sandwich.

After we recovered from lunch, we went to the Museum at Campbell River – Kyle has worked there in the past so he walked me through the exhibits. I had the most fun with the interactive components, like this one in the logging exhibit:

image

On Wednesday we drove to Cape Scott Provincial Park, on the northwestern tip of the island, to hike the trail to San Josef Bay. It was a long day of driving – 5 hours each way for a 1 hour hike – but it was worth it for the beautiful views. We stayed at least an hour at San Josef just taking photos of the beach, the waves, and the sea stacks.

image

image

image

If you want to see way better photos from San Josef, see Kyle’s tumblr. His camera is better than mine, and he’s got some serious skills when it comes to landscape (and architectural) photography.

Bonus: on our way home from Cape Scott, we spotted tons of wildlife – 9 deer, 2 elk, and 4 bears including 2 bear cubs – plus this amazing double rainbow!

image

Not bad, right?

Stay sassy,

Caj

