Time for another food post. Jaclyn and Pat came for dinner on Monday night, and it was requested by my parents that I make it, so I took the opportunity to try something new.

image

In flipping through my June 2012 issue of Cooking Light that I bought last year, I came across two yummy-looking recipes: Summer Grilled Vegetable Pizza and Melon and Fig Salad with Prosciutto and Balsamic Drizzle. I took the ideas as my jumping-off points but didn’t really follow any recipes.

I like salads when they are unique and different, and I LOVE prosciutto, so I was excited about this one. I quartered about 8 figs, shaved several very thin slices of cantaloupe, and tore a few slices of prosciutto before tossing it all with a box of arugula. So simple! Pat made the dressing with a mix of balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and dijon mustard.

Unfortunately I forgot to take photos of the process and only remembered when the bowl was almost completely empty:

image

For the pizzas, I decided to make cauliflower crusts like I had done before because they were just so damn good last time. I cut and grilled red pepper, yellow pepper, zucchini, yellow zucchini, red onion, and portobello mushrooms, and added a generous amount on top of the baked crusts along with tomato sauce and crumbled goat cheese before popping under the broiler.

image

I served the remainder of the grilled veggies, including grilled leftover cauliflower, as another side.

It was a hit with the whole fam!

Stay hungry,

Caj

P.S. Last week’s new recipe was fish tacos – the ones Kyle and I made for his parents. There isn’t really much for me to describe – my contribution was the guacamole I have already posted about, and Kyle’s dad seasoned and cooked the cod – but they were great too! We sautéed peppers and onions and used vegetable tortillas for the tacos. If you want to do something similar, just get some good tortillas and serve the fish with veggies and whatever condiments you like: guac, salsa, sour cream, etc.

