I’m a quinoa fan, but I’ve never made it myself before, so this week I decided to give it a try. It’s pretty bland unless you make it into a salad with lots of other interesting ingredients, so I used my trusty Pinterest to find this recipe for mango and black bean quinoa salad.

It is deceiving – quinoa really expands so if you cook about 3/4 cup you will end up with 2 cups of cooked quinoa. This recipe was really simple to make: bring 3/4 cups quinoa + 1 1/2 cups water to a boil (or whatever amounts as long as the quinoa:water ratio is 1:2). Then let it simmer for about 15 minutes, and in the meantime wash and prepare the rest of the ingredients. Once the quinoa is done cooking, you can mix all the ingredients together in a large bowl and add the dressing.

One thing I will say is that I would use fewer black beans next time – I found they kind of took over the salad. Also, I might add a little more vinegar, lime juice and/or salt and pepper to take the flavour up a notch.

Pretty, though, no?

image

P.S. I bought a line-a-day journal today, and I’m so excited about it. Basically, it’s a notebook with a page for every day of the calendar year, with space to write a few lines that sum up that day in any way you like. Each page has space for five entries so that you can keep a record of all your memories across five years. Being the nostalgic person I am, I thought it was brilliant.

image

P.P.S. I’ve been going on some adventures this week and have more planned, so stay tuned!

Caj

