This past weekend was my first one in Toronto in a month, so I was determined to get out, see friends and try new things (during the week I have admittedly been a bit of a hermit).

My brother, Blake, was home for the weekend. On Friday night we wanted to try a new restaurant, and opted for John & Sons Oyster House at Yonge & St. Clair. We were immediately excited upon entering because we spotted Rick Hoffman, the actor who plays Louis Litt on Suits, at the bar. He is one of my favourites on the show, so I was dying to say something, but I didn’t want to intrude on his casual evening with his friend/date.

Sadly I didn’t take any photos of the food – I was too busy enjoying it. To start off, I tried two oysters and Blake had four. They have several varieties from different areas on the west and east coasts, each described according to their flavour (brininess/saltiness, “watermelon” or “cucumber” finish, etc.). For my main, I chose the yellow thai curry mussels. I love the sweeter flavour of yellow curry, and the frites they came with were great too. Blake ordered the tuna “BLT”: layers of panko-fried tomatoes, seared tuna, pancetta and greens. Hearty and fresh-tasting.

I definitely ate well that night – after going out downtown, my friend Britt and I made a stop at Burrito Boyz on Adelaide. It was my first time there, and my (giant) chicken burrito was more than satisfying.

I also have to mention the cab ride I took earlier that night. It was CRAZY. Five minutes after I called Beck Taxi, a cab with multicoloured flashing lights pulled up outside my house. It was amazingly and elaborately decorated inside, there were 10 current-issue magazines on the back of the chair in front of me, and the Gangnam Style music video was playing on the TVs on the back of the headrests. The cab driver offered me 10 different packs of gum and a Tootsie Pop. Needless to say, I was loving life. His name is Akber Batada and he drives the famous “Cosmic Cab” (he showed me his feature on Breakfast Television and has been featured on six other news channels). He doesn’t usually take calls, so I just lucked out that he happened to be in my area. He made my day!

Saturday night, I met Steph and Tory at Cadillac Lounge in Parkdale. It was a trek ($40 cab ride), but was worth it for something different and was a fun night out. The karaoke crooners kept us very entertained, and they make a mean plate (or skillet) of nachos.

Stay curious,

Caj

