On Sunday morning, Jaclyn and I headed to a Barreworks class at the Queen West location and then continued on to Liberty Village for brunch at Mildred’s Temple Kitchen. Neither of us had been, but we had both heard good things and wanted to try it. In fact, I had never been to the neighbourhood at all, so we took the 30 to 40-minute wait for our table as an opportunity to do a little exploring.

image

Liberty Village is definitely a trendy area that attracts a lot of young people. I have to say that I liked the semi-industrial vibe and how it felt somewhat removed from the rest of the city – however this definitely makes it less convenient to get around.

image

Our first stop was Balzac’s for a caffeine kick:

image

Next, we checked out West Elm, a furniture and home decor store where I wanted to buy nearly everything. Sure I’m excited about the independence aspect, but the main reason I’m looking forward to getting my own place down the road is so that I can decorate it to my heart’s content.

image

By the time we were ready to go our table was ready, so we happily headed over to Mildred’s where we split an order of “Mrs. Biederhof’s Legendary Light & Fluffy Blueberry Buttermilk Pancakes”. This is a good descriptor, but a picture is worth a thousand words:

image

DROOL. Needless to say, this Caj was a happy Caj. We also walked through a market on our way back to the car.

More neighbourhoods await exploration! Any takers?

Stay curious,

Caj

