For the August long weekend, Tory and I took the train to Montreal for our second consecutive year at Osheaga. Osheaga is an annual three-day music festival that takes place in Montreal’s Parc Jean-Drapeau and has been going on since 2006. It is typically known as an indie music festival, and I guess it mostly is, but you will also find several other genres there including folk, bluegrass, R&B, pop, rock, electronic/house, and hip-hop/rap.

When we went in 2012, the highlights (for us) were Of Monsters and Men, Florence + The Machine, Young the Giant, Arkells, City and Colour and The Black Keys. We floated around from stage to stage and met up with various friends (and some family members) along the way. We had such a good time that there was no way we could miss 2013. Unfortunately, tickets for Sunday sold out so fast that we were only able to go for the first two days.

^ Bet these girls are glad I took their new Facebook cover photo for them!

Friday‘s lineup was such that we ended up hanging around the two main stages, Scène de la Rivière and Scène de la Montagne, for the entire day. These two stages are right next to each other, so this was pretty convenient. We arrived at the Parc just in time to hear Daughter’s set – they were super likeable and sounded arguably even better live than they do on their album. Ben Howard, one of our favourites of the festival, was on next:

After Ben came Alt-J, Two Door Cinema Club, and Ellie Goulding. I get really excited when I know and can sing along to as many songs as possible, and Halcyon was an album I listened to a lot in 2012, so she was my favourite of the day:

Vampire Weekend was next, and I was pleasantly surprised to discover that I knew a majority of the songs in their set – turns out the three songs I thought I knew are actually about eight songs that sound really similar to me. The last band we saw was Phoenix, who put on a great show, playing both old and new songs and even performing in/crowdsurfing through the audience:

We weren’t very interested in that night’s headliner, The Cure, so at that point we called it a day.

On Saturday we hung around the main stages again, hearing first Stars and then Tegan and Sara, who I really enjoyed:

^ Tegan.

^ Sara.

Not caring much for K-OS, we positioned ourselves close to the stage for Macklemore & Ryan Lewis’s set, from which we also watched Imagine Dragons. I am a huge fan of both Imagine Dragons’ and Macklemore’s albums and had a grand ol’ time rocking out to both of them, particularly Macklemore…I may have alarmed several people around me with my relentless and aggressive rapping. #YOLO.

^ Excitement.

Skipping the headliner (Beck) again, we wrapped up our weekend by rockin’ out with our friends + Porter Robinson at the Piknic Electronik stage.

Thanks for a great weekend, Osheaga! Be seeing you again next year.

Stay dancing!

Caj

