A couple of weeks ago, I was experimenting with spaghetti squash and submitted this healthy recipe to Lauren Conrad’s Fall Flavors contest. Turns out, my recipe was chosen for the entree category! Few things in my life have felt as exciting as being featured on Lauren Conrad’s website. Ahhhh.

I hadn’t gotten around to posting the recipe here, but now there is simply no excuse not to.

spaghetti

Here’s what I used (makes 4 servings):

  • 2 medium spaghetti squashes
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • Allspice
  • 2 small ripe avocados
  • 1/4 lemon, juiced
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 pinch salt
  • Grated parmesan cheese (to taste)

Here’s what I did:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 ºF.
  2. Cut each spaghetti squash in half using a large, sharp knife and a sawing motion.
  3. Scoop the seeds out of all four squash halves.
  4. Use a pastry brush to lightly coat each half with 1 tablespoon (total) of olive oil.
  5. Season with salt, pepper, and allspice or whichever spices you prefer. I think allspice is a good option for bringing out the flavours in the squash.
  6. Places the halves face-down on two cookie sheets and bake for 45 minutes.
  7. Combine the avocado, lemon juice, garlic, salt and remaining 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a food processor and pulse until smooth.
  8. Once cooked, use a fork to scrape out all of the spaghetti-like strands from the squash into a large bowl and strain. Add the avocado sauce on top and toss to mix in thoroughly.
  9. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese and enjoy!

Now excuse me while I go freak out about this some more.

Stay hungry!

Caj

