The sisters behind A Beautiful Mess are challenging other bloggers to create four simple goals to accomplish before the end of the calendar year. I am a constant goal-setter as is, and I liked the idea of limiting myself to four that are clear-cut and attainable. So this is what I have settled on:

  1. Put away my phone–and stay off social media websites–when I am at work or working on my applications.  I too often impulsively check Facebook/Instagram/Bloglovin’, sometimes when I am in the middle of an important task, and then get sidetracked.  I’m going to work on focusing on the task at hand and saving socializing for a less-frequent reward.
  2. Have all Christmas gifts planned (if not purchased) by December 1st.  Every year I find myself scrambling to find the right gifts a week before Christmas, usually because of exams and the general craziness that is December.  With my applications due between December 1st and 15th, I want to be able to just focus on them and then kick back and enjoy the holiday spirit (and my birthday!) once they are submitted.
  3. Revisit Barreworks and take a modified class.  Because of my knee issues, I’m supposed to avoid anything that will put too much stress on them for a few months, and Barreworks classes are a major culprit what with all the squatting/lunging/pliés.  The thing is, though, I’m bored of doing the same ol’ gym routine and I find myself avoiding going to the gym because of it.  I miss Barreworks, and I’d like to take a stab at a class again and just do whatever I can manage.
  4. Smile more often: in conversation, at strangers in the Starbucks line, and even when I’m by myself, just because.  Fun fact: the more you smile, the more you can trick yourself into feeling happy, even if your day might not be going your way.  I think this is a little trick that everyone could use.

I’d love to know: what goals do you have before the New Year?  Tell me about them in the comments!

Stay motivated,

Caj

