There’s nothing quite like the first snowfall of the year.  Sure, by February the whole snow thing gets old (okay, by January), but the first snowfall just always feels so magical for me, and yesterday was no different.  I was home alone for the day, and perfectly content to hole up in my comfiest outfit (i.e., basically pajamas), right after some holiday shopping and a trip to Starbucks for a peppermint mocha.

Naturally, the next logical step was to bake something (semi-)festive.

image-81

Sometime last week I was driving home from work wondering how biscotti was made, and when I arrived home I found that my mom had cut out a recipe for biscotti from the Globe & Mail.  It was the weirdest thing.  And so, with a whole afternoon in front of me, I set to work on Stephanie Eddy’s recipe.  Side note: these scones were also Stephanie’s brainchildren, and they are TO DIE FOR, so I knew I was pretty safe with these.

They weren’t hard to make–easier than I thought, actually–but the process was a little long, so I won’t bore you with the list of ingredients and instructions, especially because you can find them word-for-word in the original recipe.

image-82

image-83

^ After the first round of baking.

image-84

^ After the second round of baking and the all-important drizzling of white chocolate.

Now to dip one into a warm cup of tea!

Stay hungry,

Caj

