While my more-mature big sister has come to terms with the bleak realities associated with December birthdays, I haven’t quite reached that point.  I will confess that my birthday is still a big deal to me–perhaps childishly so.  The thing is, as long as I can remember, it has fallen right smack in the middle of holiday madness and–until this year–exams.  Without fail, my schedule would gift me with an exam the day after my birthday, keeping me cooped up in the library while my friends were either also studying or already home (yes, I am requesting a tiny violin).

IMG_2241

I don’t mean to sound demanding or self-indulgent: For me, it’s just become about finding ways to inject little sources of joy into my day.  That could mean getting a free Starbucks drink, redeeming my mini beauty gift at Sephora, wearing my favourite outfit, or making a reservation at one of the many restaurants on my list.  With time, I have mastered the art of finding joy in the little things.  This year felt a little extra-special, though: I was lucky enough to ring in my day at the Beyoncert (a term I have just coined, you’re welcome) and to celebrate with a group of 20+ friends, and I felt completely dumbstruck, blessed and ecstatic about both.

IMG_2287

More than anything, though, I have been humbled as always by the outpouring of love from friends and family.  To me, this is the magic of birthdays, and the reason I hope I never get over them: It is one day a year, just for you, that serves as a reminder of how much you are loved.  Of course that may be true all 365 days, but sometimes it can be easy to forget.

P.S. You may or may not have noticed that I now have my very own domain, keepingitcaj.com.  A gift from an extra-special person in my life. 🙂

