Oh, hi there! Remember that time when I considered myself a blogger (LOL) and actually wrote posts semi-regularly? It already feels like a distant memory to me. Lives change, and schedules and priorities change with them. That said, even in its early days, I never wanted this to be a space that I felt obligated to maintain. I quickly realized that food-themed content–recipes, restaurant reviews, and food-focused travel and exploration–was my favourite content to create, and Instagram has been satiating that desire for the past while. All this to say that the impetus for this post was spontaneous, and it’s entirely possible that you may not see another one for 17 more months (follow me on Instagram @carlycraves instead!).

Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 10.16.12 PM

In my usual spirit of all things easy, fast, and (mostly) healthy, I bring you a quick ‘n’ delicious smoothie recipe inspired by two of my inspirations in the worlds of food and social media, Erin Ireland (website, Instagram) and Jillian Harris (blog, Instagram). The two are friends, and Erin recently crafted a healthy (vegan) take on an Orange Julius for Jillian’s website. I was more of a Yogen Früz than an Orange Julius girl in my days spent at the Eaton Centre, but my dad would give me the occasional sip of his frothy orange-vanilla concoctions. As citrus season is winding (or has already wound?) to a close, I wanted to put my own spin on it before it was too late. I decided to use grapefruits in place of oranges, though, as my friend Amy and I had somehow stumbled upon the sweetest grapefruits in existence a week earlier.

By the way, I’ve already bragged about Amy on my Facebook before but I’ll do it again here for good measure: the girl is a CRAZY talented baker and food photographer and has already created content for BuzzFeed and the Food Network and been featured on other blogs. Give her blog and/or Instagram a follow!

ANYwho, as I’d also just picked up the photogenic strawberries pictured above, I decided to throw those into the mix as well. And quite honestly, because I’m a crazy lady about springtime and summer fruit, the strawberries became the star of the show. The alternate/more accurate title of this recipe is Strawberry Ice Cream Smoothie, because the strawberry and vanilla flavours really shine through with just a hint of brightness from the citrus.

IMG_8716

What to use:

  • 1/2 grapefruit, segmented (I typically peel the grapefruit as I would an orange, slice off the inner edge of the membrane with the tip of a sharp knife, and then peel it back…though you can Google other methods that may be more efficient)
  • 1/2 cup strawberries, pre-sliced and frozen (if not frozen, add a handful of ice cubes)
  • 1/4 cup almond milk (I use unsweetened vanilla, but any kind will do)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder (adds protein, vanilla flavour, and frothy texture)
  • 1/4 cup vanilla Greek yogurt (adds extra protein, vanilla flavour, and creamy texture; omit if you’d like to keep the recipe vegan)

What to do:

  1. Add all ingredients to a blender and blend until smooth.
  2. If not yet to your desired thickness, add a handful of ice cubes and re-blend.
  3. Optional: if–like me–you like your smoothies thick and eaten with a spoon, pour into a bowl and top with desired toppings (e.g., granola, sliced strawberries).

Nothing like drinkable ice cream to start the day off on a good note!

Stay hungry,

Caj

